Legalized Pot States and Landlord Tenant Rights

MARIJUNA , LANDLORDS and TENANTS

Are you a landlord in a state were marijuana has been legalized?

LANDLORDS and WEED / MARIJUANA / POT

Can you ban tenants from smoking medical marijuana in your property?

Would it be like saying no Tyenol?

What are the tenant’s rights?

Can you evict a tenant?

How can you, the landlord PROFIT from these new laws? Can you?

LEGALIZED MARIJUANA STATES

Alaska
Adults 21 and over can light up in Alaska. In early 2015, the northernmost US state made it legal for residents to use, possess, and transport up to an ounce of marijuana — roughly a sandwich bag full — for recreational use.

California
California, the first legalized pot in 1996. In 2016 they made it legal to use and carry up to an ounce of marijuana without a prescription.

There’s no place to legally buy bud, however, until January 1, 2018, when the state begins issuing licenses to marijuana dispensaries that allow them to sell non-medical weed.

If you can wait , find a doctor to prescribe it.


Colorado

Residents and tourists alike can buy up to one ounce of pot.
The state joined Washington in becoming the first two states to legalize recreational marijuana in 2012. Since then housing has boomed as had investments. Pot dispensaries, Starbucks and more – all next to each other.

MAINE
Residents have the right to possess a 2.5 ounces of marijuana, more than double the limit in most other states. Hey, it’s cold up there, you have to stock up!


MASSACHUSSETS

On December 15, they began allowing residents to carry and consume small amounts of weed and grow up to 12 plants in their homes. (12 plants….so as a landlord, you know have a grow house)

The future of the state’s adult-use market remains hazy, however. A bill signed by the governor over the holidays delayed the timetable for opening retail stores from early 2018 to mid-year.

NEVADA
January 1 2017, it became legal to possess up to an ounce of pot. Retail in 2018.
Residents must live 25 miles outside the nearest dispensary in order to become eligible for a grower’s license. Given the number of dispensaries likely to pop up, you may wind up in another state.

OREGON
In 2015, Oregonians got the green light to carry up to an ounce of weed and grow up to four plants at home. It’s also legal to give edibles as a gift, so long as they’re ingested in private. Seriously, who thinks of these things??

Dispensaries generated nearly $15 million in tax revenue between July 2015 and June 2016. HEY LET’S JOIN IN – and tax it!!

WASHINGTON
Dispensaries in Washington raked in over $1 billion in non-medical marijuana sales since the drug was legalized for recreational use back in 2012. The state allows people to carry up to one ounce of marijuana, but they must require the drug for medicinal purposes in order to be eligible for a grower’s license.
You can smoke it, but not grow it.

WASHINGTON, DC
People may possess up to two ounces of pot and “gift” up to one ounce, if neither money nor goods or services are exchanged. (So funny, these laws)

Profile photo of David Dorfman
About David Dorfman 36 Articles
David Dorfman , Internet Consultant, Licensed New Jersey and Florida Real Estate Agent, Investor in Real Estate and Real Estate Technology.
Skip to toolbar