* Always take a last walk-through with the landlord before you vacate the
rental dwelling! Note any damages in writing and reach a final agreement
concerning any financial penalties which may occur, or that may jeopardize the
status of your
return. Landlord may not charge for
Wear and Tear.
* When you move out, a Florida landlord must either
return your deposit (plus
interest, if applicable) within 15 days of termination of the lease, or
justify in writing, within the 15 day period, why he is keeping a portion or
all of the money. The justification must be sent by certified mail to your
last known mail address.
* If the notice is not sent as required within the 15-day period, the landlord
forfeits his right to impose a claim unless you failed to give proper notice
prior to vacating.
* If the Florida tenant objects to the landlord retaining all or a portion of the
deposit the matter may be taken to Small Claims Court in the County your
rental was located.
Read about: Florida
Security Deposit Guide